Introduction to Strategic Planning – Research Paper

Brief Review

The National Response Framework (NRF)

The government resources may not be able to handle the needs of individuals impacted by natural disasters, terrorist attacks or any other disastrous event. NRF which was updated in 2013 was formed with the aim of integrating the entire community in disaster response. NRF offers context for how the entire community can work in collaboration to handle a disaster and how response effort associate with other national preparedness parts. The NRF has a core capabilities of attaining 14 distinct elements required to attain the National Preparedness goals. These elements include planning, situation assessment, public warning and information, public medical and health services, operational coordination, private and public resources and services,  critical transportation, operational communication, environmental health/response and safety, on-scene protection and security, fatality management services, rescue operations and mass search, infrastructure systems and mass care services. The response framework addresses necessary capabilities to protect environment and properties, save lives, and address primary human needs after a disastrous event has taken place. All this is done to facilitate the attainment of the five disaster response goals that include prevent, respond to, protect against, mitigate, and recover from all hazards and threats (Homeland Security, 2013).

 National Incident Management System (NIMS)

NIMS is a proactive, systematic approach to guide agencies and departments at all levels of private sectors, nongovernmental organizations and government to work seamlessly together and manage events involving all hazards and threats irrespective of complexity, cause, location, or size so as to lower losses of property, life and environment harm. The NIMS is an important basis to the national preparedness system (NPS) and offers the management template of operations and incidents in support of the five national planning frameworks. It contains five components that include information management and communications, preparedness, management and command, resource management, and ongoing maintenance and management. Its main purpose is to offer a common technique for incidents management. NMIS offers a set of standardized organizational structures which enhances connectivity and integration among disciplines and jurisdictions beginning with a common planning and preparedness foundation. It also promotes and offers common terminology that fosters more effectual communication among organizations and agencies responding to incident together (Homeland Security, 2008b).

Download full research paper on introduction to strategic planning or Order original paper on this topic or any other topic at an affordable price.

Share with your friends
Order Unique Answer Now

Add a Comment