Information Technology Certifications Research Paper


            Information technology certifications are normally non-degree programs awarded to individuals or organizations after they are cleared by the awarding organization, having achieved the qualifications as set by the awarding organization. It has been shown that those who have been certified by IT bodies have a higher pay, usually ten to twenty percent increment compared to uncertified individuals/organizations, (Polidoro, 2012). There are many types of certifications and these depend on type of certification and individual or organization intends to be certified on. The following are some of the common types of certifications.

Types of  Information technology certifications for  Information technology Professionals

Certified Information Systems Security Professional cert (CISSP)

            The International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium, Inc. (ISC2) provides this certification program, (, 2014). This certification is one of the common certifications in the IT field. It is a global certification, which acknowledges the achievements and knowledge of an individual in the field of Information Security. The company became the first IT Company to attain/meet the strict guidelines of ISO/IEC Standard 17024.

The Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert (CCIE) Certification

            The Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert Certification is one of the most accepted certifications worldwide and is provided by Cisco Company. It is considered the most prestigious certification in the IT industry, (Cisco, 2014). This certification is suited for enterprising IT individuals who wish to explore new roles and adapt to the changing technologies.

Cisco’s certified internetwork expert certification is the best in its category and has long been at the pinnacle in the IT industry. They have many training programs and certifications that parallel its client growth in the industry. Due to uncertainty in the networking industry, the company is always streamlining its training programs to capture the latest changes in technology. This proves that it is not only the certification for now but also for future. Cisco has other certifications and this offers a variety matching the individual’s specific career path. The other certifications available are CCAr, CCDE and CCNP among other certifications.

Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL ®)

            This certification is offered by ITIL ® Foundations and is targeted for mid-level professionals who want to improve the IT management skills in organizations. In order to qualify for ITIL, one must have some experience in the IT field in his/her bet, (, 2014).

The certification offers some entry examinations under the foundation level. These examinations are aimed at assessing and offering awareness about the key elements and concepts as employed in ITIL lifecycle as well as processes and linkages between the ITIL lifecycles in addition to what these contributes to the service.

Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE)

Microsoft is one of the world’s renowned manufacturers of computer hardware and software. The company is available in every country in the world. Due to its indulgence in software and other applications manufacturer, the company offers world-renowned certification in the IT industry, (Tittel, 2014).

MCSE certification has been in high demand for a long time, although its demand has waned recently due to other emerging accredited institutions like Cisco, VMware’s and NetApp’s NCDA. MCSE certification is a global standard for IT professionals that are widely used over the world by international organizations and individuals. Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE) certifies that one is competent to offer efficient modern data centre with expertise in systems management, networking, storage, identity management and virtualization.

Security + Certification

The Security + is an internationally recognized certification offered by Camptia Company. The security + is approved by US department of defense to meet management certification and IA technical requirements. The certification is widely accepted and used by over 250,000 IT professionals in the world, (, 2014).

Security + Certification offers SY0-401 exam that covers fundamental principles in network and security management. The certification is vendor neutral and this means it opens up job opportunities in any industry. In order to sit for security + certification exam, one has to have two years of experience in technical networking and a bias in security.

With the increasing globalization and cybercrimes, there is more demand for cyber security. More organizations are adopting online money transfer and many individuals are doing business through online platforms. This trend is increasing and in future, more and more individuals will adopt online technology.  With this in mind, the Security + certification is inevitable both currently and in future, making it a certification of choice.

You can order a custom research paper at an affordable price.

Need a Professional Writer to Work on Your Assignments? We will deliver Unique and Quality Work. Good Grade Guarantee!!

Order Unique Answer Now